Women in Signal Processing Panel Luncheon and Panel Discussion

What Is Needed to Become an IEEE Fellow - Theory vs. Practice

Wednesday, 10 October 2018,- 12:30-14:30
Divani Caravel Hotel - Athen's View



Join the IEEE Women in Signal Processing Committee for lunch followed by a panel discussion with distinguished SPS members as they shed light on the IEEE Fellow elevation process, including how to start preparing years ahead before you may think you should.

For any panel related questions, please contact Women in Signal Processing Committee Chair, Namrata Vaswani.

Add your name to the new Women in Signal Processing Directory and join the WISP mailing list! Visit the WISP website to learn more.

Panel Moderator:
Prof. Barbara Zitova, Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic

Panelist Bios

Amy R. Reibman

Amy R. Reibman is a Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Purdue University. She pursued 23 years of industrial research at AT&T Labs -- Research, where she was a Distinguished Member of Technical Staff and a Lead Inventive Scientist. Her research interests are in video analytics, video stabilization, and image and video quality assessment. She has also done pioneering work on video transmission over packet networks, and has published over 35 journal papers, 100 conference papers, and holds more than 30 US patents.

Dr. Reibman was elected IEEE Fellow in 2005, for her contributions to video transport over networks. She was chair of the IEEE Fellow Committee in 2016-2017, a Judge on the IEEE Fellow Committee from 2012-2015, and on the IEEE Fellow Strategic Planning Committee from 2013-2018. She has written 2 (out of 2) successful Fellow nominations. In 1998, she won the IEEE Communications Society Leonard G. Abraham Prize Paper Award. She was the Technical co-chair of the IEEE International Conference on Image Processing in 2002. She was a Distinguished Lecturer for the IEEE Signal Processing Society from 2008-2009, was a member of the IEEE Awards Committee from 2010-2012.

Min Wu

Min Wu is a Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and a Distinguished Scholar-Teacher at the University of Maryland, College Park. She received her Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from Princeton University in 2001. At UMD, she leads the Media and Security Team (MAST), with main research interests on information security and forensics and multimedia signal processing. Her research and education have been recognized by a U.S. NSF CAREER award, a TR100 Young Innovator Award from the MIT Technology Review, an U.S. ONR Young Investigator Award, a Computer World "40 Under 40" IT Innovator Award, University of Maryland Invention of the Year Awards, IEEE Distinguished Lecturer recognition, and several paper awards from IEEE SPS, ACM, and EURASIP. She was elected IEEE Fellow and AAAS Fellow for contributions to multimedia security and forensics. Dr. Wu chaired the IEEE Technical Committee on Information Forensics and Security (2012-2013), and has served as Vice President - Finance of the IEEE Signal Processing Society (2010-2012), Founding Chief Editor of the IEEE SigPort initiative (2013-2014), and Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Signal Processing Magazine (2015-2017).

Dr. Lina Karam

Dr. Lina Karam (Fellow of the IEEE) is a Professor in Electrical and Computer Engineering, Computer Engineering Director, and the Director of the Image, Video & Usability (IVU) Research Lab at Arizona State University. She is a recipient of the NSF CAREER, NASA Technical Innovation, Intel Outstanding Researcher, IEEE SPS Best Journal Paper, and the IEEE Phoenix Section Outstanding Faculty Awards. Dr. Karam served on the IEEE PSPB Strategic Planning Committee, and the editorial boards of the IEEE SP Magazine, IEEE JSTSP, IEEE TIP, and IEEE SP Letters. She served as a Lead Guest Editor for the Proceedings of the IEEE, IEEE JSTSP, and as a Guest Editor for the IEEE SP Magazine and EURASIP Journal on Image and Video Processing. She served as the General Chair of the 2016 IEEE ICIP, Technical Program Chair of the 2009 IEEE ICIP, General Chair of the 2011 IEEE DSP/SPE Workshops. She cofounded the QoMEX conference. She is currently serving on the IEEE SPS Board of Governors and on the IEEE CAS Fellow Evaluation Committee. She is also serving on the Foundation and Trends in Signal Processing Journal Editorial Board. She is a member of the IEEE SPS IVMSP TC and IEEE CAS DSP TC. She has been selected by the IEEE Signal Processing Society to serve as the new Editor-In-Chief of the IEEE Journal on Selected Topics in Signal Processing (IEEE JSTSP) starting January 2019.

Sabine Süsstrunk

Sabine Süsstrunk is full professor in the School of Computer and Communication Sciences (IC) at EPFL, Switzerland, where she leads the Images and Visual Representation Lab (IVRL) since 1999 and the Digital Humanities Institute (DHI) since 2015. Her research areas are in computational photography, color computer vision and color image processing, image quality, and computational aesthetics. She has published over 150 scientific papers, of which 7 have received best paper/demos awards, and holds 10 patents. She received the IS&T/SPIE 2013 Electronic Imaging Scientist of the Year Award and IS&T’s 2018 Raymond C. Bowman Award. She is a Fellow of IEEE and IS&T.